Home  :  News and Events  :  News Details  

Figueroa, Trio of Cobras Earn Post-season Honors

Figueroa named Region 24 Coach of the Year; players make All-Region

Rod Lovett
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Third-year Parkland Men's Basketball Coach Anthony Figueroa was named the Region 24 Coach of the Year, and three of his players were named All-Region, in recognition of the Cobras outstanding 26-6 campaign.
In three years at the helm of the Cobras, Figueroa has compiled an overall record of 61-31 and led Parkland to a share of its first M-WAC men's basketball title in 20 years.

Corvon Butler, JaQuan Bryant, and Charles Sweatt-Washington were all recognized as 1st Team All-Region players. All three sophomores transferred to Parkland with just one year of eligibility remaining and made the best of their playing time in Champaign.

Butler led the Cobras in scoring averaging 10.5 points per game, shooting 54.1% from the field and 70.5 % from the line. He also led the team in rebounds, averaging 6.6 per contest. Butler was also named to the first team five-man all conference team. Sweatt-Washington joins Butler on the 1st Team All-Region squad and was also a 2nd Team All-Conference performer. He averaged 7.9 points per game and 5.1 rebounds on the season and saved his best play for conference games where he led the team in scoring, including a season high 22 points against M-WAC co-champion John Wood. JaQuan Bryant is the final member of the Cobras on the All-Region team. Bryant was second on the team in scoring, averaging 10.3 points per game and led the team with 53 made three-point shots.

All-Region Team:

Jordan Johnson John Wood Player of the Year
Najeal Young Lincoln
Brody Gronewold John Wood
Corvon Butler Parkland College
Justin Taylor ICC
Eddie Longmeyer Lincoln Land
Adam Hendrix Danville Area
JaQuan Bryant Parkland College
Paxton Harmon John Wood
Charles Sweatt-Washington Parkland College
Dedric Byrd Rend Lake
Cayman Meier Danville Area

Anthony Figueroa Parkland Coach of the Year


First Team:
Jordan Johnson John Wood Player of the Year
Najeal Young Lincoln
Brody Gronewold John Wood
Corvon Butler Parkland
Joseph English Danville

Second Team:

Eddie Longmeyer Lincoln Land
Justin Taylor ICC
Charles Sweatt-Washington Parkland
Paxton Harmon John Wood
Darren Davidson Lincoln

MWAC Co-Freshman of the Year: Justin Taylor (ICC) and Cayman Meier (DACC)
Coach of the Year: Brad Hoyt John Wood

© Parkland College
2400 West Bradley Ave | Champaign, IL 61821 | 217.351.2200 | 888.467.6065
The Mission of Parkland College is to engage the community in learning.